fortydaysojourn

Just another WordPress.com site

This life is not all there is! (Day 4)

on February 25, 2012

“When this tent we live in – our body here on earth – is torn down, God will have a house in heaven for us to live in, a home he himself has made, which will last forever.”  (2 Cor. 5:1, TEV)

The life we’re living here is really a dress rehearsal for the lives we’ll have in heaven.  The way we prepare for eternity is to change our focus from where we are to where we’re going.  When we accept Jesus’ gift of salvation is the moment we say, “I’ve decided to follow You.  I want to become kingdom-minded instead of wrapping myself around this world.”

In accepting His precious gift, we become closer to Him, and therefore everything seems to become smaller than it appears.  For instance, I occasionally get wrapped up in what others think about me.  I hate that it trips me up every time.  Yet, in those moments I shift my focus and realize what others think about me doesn’t really matter.  Instead, what does my Heavenly Father think about me?  Would He be proud of me?

When we keep the vision of eternity etched in our minds, this contemporary short-term thinking no longer cuts it for us.  God in His bounty offers us the opportunity beyond this lifetime.  Life is like a blink of an eye, and its consequences last forever.

Stop where you are.  Shift your direction.  Live a kingdom-minded life.

Leave a Reply

