fortydaysojourn

Just another WordPress.com site

Ugh, the S word! (Day 10)

on March 9, 2012

“Give yourselves to God…Surrender your whole being to him to be used for righteous purposes.” (Romans 6:13, TEV)

“Surrender is not the best way to live; it is the only way to live.  Nothing else works.” ~~ Pastor Rick Warren

Surrender is one of those words that make us cringe.  The S word, I call it.  It has this connotation of having lost something, and we don’t like to lose anything or anyone, especially when their integrity and reputation are on the line. 

Yet, in God, surrendering is the crux of worship, the core of what drives us to be in fellowship with Him.  It’s what Pastor Rick Warren calls the “natural response to God’s amazing love and mercy.”  It’s the foundation for the song Here I Am To Worship by Chris Tomlin:

I’ll never know how much it cost
To see my sin upon that cross
I’ll never know how much it cost
To see my sin upon that cross
I’ll never know how much it cost
To see my sin upon that cross
I’ll never know how much it cost

Here I am to worship,
Here I am to bow down,
Here I am to say that You’re my God
You’re altogether lovely
All together worthy,
All together wonderful to me

In order to surrender, we must be honest with ourselves and ask the following questions:

  • Can I trust God?
  • Can I admit my limitations to Him, to myself, to others?
  • What does it mean to surrender? 
  • What do I lose? 
  • What do I gain?
  • Will I surrender to Him or succumb to something else (i.e., self-will, pride, etc.)?

This Lenten season is the perfect time to ask ourselves these questions, even if we’ve been on our faith journey for years.  This is the perfect time to give Him our doubts, regrets, worries, etc., and allow ourselves to fall into His arms and chart our course.

Leave a Reply

