fortydaysojourn

Just another WordPress.com site

I Ask You To Take All of Me…… (Day 13)

on March 14, 2012

No matter what type of relationship we’re in, we must have every part of ourselves involved in it.  The same holds true for God.  He wants us to give all of ourselves in the intimate relationships we have with Him.  The Word tells us to “love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.” (Mark 12:30, NIV)

As we love the Lord with all these components, He also wants us to be authentic and thoughtful with our worship.  No faking allowed!  After all, doesn’t He know everything about us?  We must be totally involved in worship with our hearts and souls, and we need to be thoughful about it.  Again, no stale exclamations, no heartless singing and repetitive prayers.  Just like we have to keep our earthly relationships fresh, we have to do the same in worshiping our Lord and Heavenly Father.

And speaking of fresh, God is truly delighted when our worship is practical, offering ourselves as living sacrifrices, getting self out of the way.  These types of sacrifices include praise, thanksgiving, repentance, service and other acts of worship.  Even in those moments when we don’t feel like lifting up a word of praise, do it anyway.  It’s a sacrifice and it makes our Lord happy. 

I smile when I think about Helen Baylor’s vocals in her rendition of All Of Me, and I’m inspired to continue giving all of myself to the Lord:

All of me
Jesus take all of me
I’m holding nothing back
I give myself to thee
Although I may not know
Just what the future holds
I ask You to take all of me

I encourage you today to give all of yourself to the One who wants to be in a sweet communion with you.

Leave a Reply

