fortydaysojourn

Just another WordPress.com site

You Belong To Me, I Belong To You (Day 17)

on March 21, 2012

As Christians we are called to belong to the Body of Christ, our church family.  No one can ever successfully be a hermit in this union, for we are called to fellowship with and be accountable to each other.  The Apostle Paul says that “In Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others.” (Rom. 12:5, NIV)

Being a member of a church congregation means giving back to God the time, talents and treasures He’s given us through ministry and tithing.  Our membership is imperative in teaching us how to live in the world and not be of it, be accountable to each other, to pray for one another and keep us aligned in Christ.  We find ourselves in Him when we have this relationship and become the hands, eyes, ears and feet for Him in the world.

This idea was hard for me to fathom when I became a Christian 21 years ago.  My life experiences before the day I asked Christ into my heart were all about shielding myself from the world.  I was hurting, broken in every part of my life.  Belonging to a church seemed scary, as it required me to fellowship with other people and be involved in ministry with people who had the same types of interests as me.  For a number of years after joining church, I was hesitant about letting my new church family into my world, especially being in my early twenties and still not knowing who I was.

On top of that, my family didn’t give me the support I needed at first.  They felt I was going through a phase, as I ended a year-long relationship with my significant other around the same time.  Needless to say, it was a stressful situation all around.

As I began falling in love with Jesus, He taught me how to open up my heart and blessed me with several of the seasoned women in our congregation.  What I couldn’t see in me, they saw the best in me.  Their nurturing hearts and genuine love for me shed layers from my life.  Their eight years of tutelage showered me with the foundation for my ministry of helps and the arts.  Now I’m in their position as a gradually seasoned woman, and I believe the Lord is preparing me to nuture the next generation.

My testimony is what belonging to a church family is all about: each one teaching one, loving on each other, correcting where correction’s needed and practicing unselfish love.  It’s not just about believing.  Belonging to a church congregation is essential to living a healthy life.

Leave a Reply

